Video
0

Movie: A Dog’s Purpose (2017)

p12962810_p_v8_aa

Based on the beloved bestselling novel by W. Bruce Cameron, A Dog’s Purpose, from director Lasse Hallström (The Cider House Rules, Dear John, The 100-Foot Journey), shares the soulful and surprising story of one devoted dog (voiced by Josh Gad) who finds the meaning of his own existence through the lives of the humans he teaches to laugh and love. The family film told from the dog’s perspective also stars Britt Robertson, KJ Apa, John Ortiz, Juliet Rylance, Luke Kirby, Peggy Lipton, Pooch Hall and Dennis Quaid.

A Dog’s Purpose is produced by Gavin Polone (Zombieland, TV’s Gilmore Girls). The film from Amblin Entertainment and Walden Media is executive produced by Alan Blomquist, Mark Sourian and Lauren Pfeiffer, and it will be distributed by Universal Pictures.

 

Plot Summary:

A devoted dog (Josh Gad) discovers the meaning of its own existence through the lives of the humans it teaches to laugh and love. Reincarnated as multiple canines over the course of five decades, the lovable pooch develops an unbreakable bond with a kindred spirit named Ethan (Bryce Gheisar). As the boy grows older and comes to a crossroad, the dog once again comes back into his life to remind him of his true self.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 


 

BabyTopaz Thinks:

The very moment I watched it’s trailer, I knew I need to watch this. The short 2 minutes plus video was able to bring tear to me! However, right before the movie, I was so shocked to see it’s rating on IMDb was only 4.6! I almost couldn’t believe my eyes. As I read further, the main critics for the low ratings were due to stories made up by TMZ magazine claiming animals being abused during the production of this movie. I 100% do not agree with abusing any kind of animal for any purpose, more so for the entertainment of human being.

Now back to the movie. I would rate this movie 7 out of 10. I did not read the novel nor I’m a big animal lover. I just think the message behind this movie was so important and it touched my heart. The plot was brilliant and the characters (and dogs as well) played so well that I couldn’t hold my tears. It’s a movie about love, relationship, humanity and everything that we need to see things thru others’ eyes including animals. The world is definitely more than ourselves. The earlier we understand this, the more love we could spread to the world! On the other hand, it thought us to re-position ourselves and rethink our purpose of life once again. Bailey took so many lives to understand his purpose of life, how about us? What’s our real purpose, of life?

 

Watch A Dog’s Purpose trailer here!

 

Leave a Reply

