Beauty and the Beast (2017)

KV4K6H3

Beauty and the Beast is a 2017 American musical romantic fantasy film directed by Bill Condon from a screenplay written by Stephen Chbosky and Evan Spiliotopoulos, and co-produced by Walt Disney Pictures and Mandeville Films. The film is a live-action/CGI-animated remake of Disney’s 1991 animated film of the same name, itself an adaptation of Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont’s eighteenth-century fairy tale. The film features an ensemble cast that includes Emma Watson and Dan Stevens as the titular characters with Luke Evans, Kevin Kline, Josh Gad, Ewan McGregor, Stanley Tucci, Audra McDonald, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Ian McKellen, and Emma Thompson in supporting roles.

Principal photography began at Shepperton Studios in Surrey, England on May 18, 2015, and ended on August 21. Beauty and the Beast premiered on February 23, 2017, at Spencer House in London and was released in North America on March 17, 2017, in the standard, Disney Digital 3-D, RealD 3D, IMAX, and IMAX 3D formats along with Dolby Cinema. The film received generally positive reviews from critics and has grossed $977 million worldwide on a $160 million production budget, making it the highest-grossing film of 2017 and the 29th highest-grossing film of all time.

Plot Summary:

Belle (Emma Watson), a bright, beautiful and independent young woman, is taken prisoner by a beast (Dan Stevens) in its castle. Despite her fears, she befriends the castle’s enchanted staff and learns to look beyond the beast’s hideous exterior, allowing her to recognize the kind heart and soul of the true prince that hides on the inside.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


BabyTopaz Thinks:

Watched this movie for the second time today. I am not the type of person who would watch the same movie twice in cinema even if I really like it, but I did it anyway. And I am so glad I did.
Not only because I love fairy tales, Disney romance movies and Emma Watson, I really love spending time with people I love and people who loves me. I love the feeling of love and being loved. I am a believer of LOVE.
Back to the movie. I know it’s a fairy tale, a tale that everyone would have heard of it in their childhood, but I didn’t get a chance to watch the animation or read this storybook. I don’t know why. Or maybe I did but I just couldn’t recall. Anyway, this movie is so good. If you haven’t watch it, you need to watch it. And if you watched it but weren’t touched by it, you need to watch it again.
The first time I watched, I watched it with someone I love. It was more on the romance side. The plotting, music and even the dance was brilliant. It felt so, fairy tale. Everything fell in perfectly with the happy ending.
Today, I watched with two person I love who also love me so dearly. Even though I knew what to expect, the movie was still able to touch me. It made me believe in LOVE again, if not more! I listened to every word in the lyric and I feel that I am able to understand LOVE more. I just think that if people could understand LOVE more, and love more, the world would be a much happier place.
Everyday is a learning day, even by watching movies that you’ve already watched! I need to make that list of movies and start watching them again!
Go catch this movie in cinema if you haven’t already!

Watch Beauty and The Beast trailer here!

Leave a Reply

