First learning point from Capsule Wardrobe

While proofreading my previous post on Capsule Wardrobe, I went to my closet and re-analyse my wardrobe.

As I have mentioned in my previous post, I have three instead of one capsule wardrobe. One being the smaller version of a capsule wardrobe at my parents’ place, and the other two is kind of a combo of summer and winter wears due to the nature of my job. I thought I could make the summer wears work for winter weather as well by layering up but I totally forgot about the extreme cold or warm weather. So I decide to separate the two for real. For example, instead of having 3 pairs of bottoms for both winter and summer, I have 2 pairs of bottoms for winter and 2 pairs for summer.

I thought the multi seasonal-combo closet is a good idea because it had been working for the past few weeks until I realized the only reason it worked was because I haven’t really been to places that are extremely cold in the past few weeks. So I made the change. Hah!

The initial idea was to try that closet for 3 months and see how things go before making any changes, but the more I look at it, the more I feel the need to change. So that’s my first learning point: when trying out something new, be it a concept or a product, it should fit into our lifestyle instead of changing our lifestyle to fit into it. A good concept should improve our lives rather than making it more difficult. Experiment a few more times by switching things up to rather than adjusting yourself to them will maximise the benefit and create your own style.

After the small change I’ve made to my capsule wardrobe, I find myself enjoying the wardrobe more now! I adjusted from the initial idea of 3 pieces from 12 categories (tank, blouse, long sleeves, button up, shorts, pants, skirt, dress, coats, flats, covered shoes and heels) by changing the categories into just 5 categories (tops, bottoms, dress, outerwear and footwear). In that way, I could introduce more tank and blouse into the spring and summer closet, or more long sleeves and pants into the autumn and winter closet, if that make sense.

That’s all I have for today. Leave me comments on what do you think about capsule wardrobe! Till then!

 

cropped-logomaker-1492498885445.png

Leave a Reply

