Frankfurt with makan kaki

Hammering Man, Frankfurt

Sunny, windy | 14°C – 22°C | 12-28 km/h | ☼ 0612 – 2047

Just gonna say, I’m blessed to have makan kaki (companion for food) – ah Boon.

Alex

Apparently Alex is a franchise restaurant, and it has great selection of vegan/vegetarian choices across the menu. The one that I’ve visited is located at the roof top of Skyline Plaza and this place is a stunner – even the review on Google said so.

There are plenty of seating – indoor and outdoor. It’s a little chilly in the morning (this period of time) so you would see most of the patrons, if not all, occupying the indoor seats. Lunch time, however, or as it comes closer to noon time, people will start to take outdoor seats as it is sunny and windy. Another reason for that is it seldom rains in Frankfurt, at least during summer.

Upon arrival into Frankfurt, it was breakfast time. According to the server, real food or kitchen only opens after noon. Hence, there we were, having breakfast buffet at Alex. I’m not sure what time does it begins (probably 8am), but it ends at noon – where the real food begins.

Breakfast buffet comes with with a glass of citrus nectar orange. Other drinks (including coffee and tea), however, has to be ordered and charged separately. Food selection is pretty good – breads, pastries, cereals, dried fruits, selection of cheese, ham, sausage, eggs, potatoes… I think we saw a sweet/ dessert corner, but both of us were too full to try.

After breakfast on day 1, I knew I will come back again someday to try their vegan/vegetarian dish. Just that the someday happened to be today – day 2.

I ordered the Superfood Salad – I was here alone today. The size of the plate is as big as my 14″ laptop. I am pretty satisfied with the food and I think I’ll come back again (p/s: the cup on the right hand side top corner contained coffee, but the crema was so thick even the black coffee looked white).

OXFAM

Oxfam at Leipziger Straße

After the long breakfast on day 1, we went to Oxfam for secondhand clothes shopping. I brought along some old clothes that are still in good condition for donation as well.

Ah Boon ended up with a nice silk tie, which costed him €3 and I got a denim jacket for €12.50. Unfortunately they do not accept VISA or Mastercard payment (I think they accept ELV) and the ladies who work in Oxfam at Leipziger Straße speak only German. So here is another reason for me to learn German.

Hong Kong Bistro

A common food joint among my colleagues. Comfort food as we would describe, it’s almost a must-visit every time we visit Frankfurt.

Sweet and sour tofu with vegetable and steamed rice

Generous portion of food. Crispy duck fried vermicelli was my favorite before practicing plant-based diet. I wouldn’t recommend dining in as the ventilation is really bad – you’ll smell exactly like the restaurant after your meal. So, maybe bring your own container for takeaway?

Mosch Mosch

Found this Japanese restaurant on my previous trip to Frankfurt but did not manage to try it.

A few minutes walk from Mexican Chipotle, Skyline plaza’s entrance/exit.

Frühlingserwachen – ramen with vegan broth

Free seating and their servers speak good English. Communication shouldn’t be a problem as they too, provide English menu. However, the vegan ramen is a little disappointing. Perhaps I was expecting it to be as good as the one I had at T’s Tantan. I wouldn’t mind coming back for other vegan dishes which seems more promising like the Yakiudon (with Beyond meat) or Moschpoke Bowl.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑