Vegan options in non-vegan restaurants in Frankfurt

Rainy, windy | 7°C – 18°C | 7-18 km/h | ☼ 0720 – 1750

Arche Nova

A Persian restaurant offers a great range of vegetarian/ vegan option.

Feels like dining in the nature

I’m not sure if it was due to the location or the weather, there wasn’t much guests when we arrived (and probably it was too early for dinner). But given the area, it has a rating of 4.3 on Google reviews, I think would think it’s pretty good.

Both of the soups are vegan and both of them are awesome – recommended by the server. I personally prefer to have the curry soup with bread because the taste could be quite strong to drink it just like that. But for the lentil soup, I am ok to drink it just like that and if you aren’t having it after the curry soup, I think the taste of the lentil soup is just nice as appetizer. A big yes for a bowl of warm soup in such chilly weather.

I’ve ordered the Tandoori Pot (paprika, potatoes, peas, eggplants, ginger and a spicy tomato broth, served with safran-herbs-rice and spinach-cinnamon-yogurt – item 154 and the owner knows exactly what you want) and a glass of apple-wine. I forgot to asked for no yogurt (as I was trying to go dairy-free) so it came by default. Other than that, I was pretty happy with my meal. My friend ordered a Viennese Schnitzel and he didn’t really enjoy it. Oh well, then he realized he shouldn’t have order a German food in a Persian restaurant. #lessonlearned

Check out their vegetarian/ vegan menu here. Anyways, the server speaks perfect English and there is English menu embedded with the main menu. So there shouldn’t be any problem navigating.

Frankfurt and Friends

I wanted to visit Arche Nova once again the next day but I was under-dressed for the weather. And this is the nearer option, so here I was.

Not sure if it’s captured in the photo but it’s raining outside

For many of my colleagues must have walked pass this place so many times, myself included, but never once had I eaten here. Not until today.

So they serve homemade burger, even the plant-based burger patty. It’s pretty interesting that people have been making plant-based burger for a while to satisfy the taste bud but they don’t get the hype as much as Impossible food or Beyond meat, and I get it. Because the texture is just not what you would expected from a regular burger. But after eating plant-based for a while, I guess the texture doesn’t really bother me anymore. I just feel good putting a variety of plant in my body, rather than animal product, be it locally sourced or factory-produced.

Veggie burger

I’ve also ordered a portion of sweet potatoes chickpea curry with Basmati rice for takeaway – with my own container, for work. Just a note to myself to always bring an extra container because that was what I’ve forgotten and they packed the rice in a Styrofoam container instead.

Lemonade with ginger and lime

And then a second note – always remember to tell the server no straw – even if you see there isn’t any straw in other patrons’ glass. 😦

Ciro il Iattaio

Before leaving Frankfurt, Kel and I met up to have a farewell lunch with Julia. And since she might not be coming back to Frankfurt in a while, we let her choose the cuisine – pasta, and then I picked the restaurant.

Hausgemachte Ravioli (homemade Ravioli)

It just seems like pasta is a thing in Frankfurt among my colleagues. Although we do fly to Italy but perhaps the frequency is not as high as Germany. Anyways, luckily there are plenty of good Italian restaurants. So what I would normally do is to use the mighty Google map and search for food/ vegan/ pasta near me and see what comes up. It is honestly one of the best things technology can offer (and nowadays, the search is usually vegan food near me).

If you haven’t read my previous post about my stand on veganism, I said something like I try not to force veganism onto others because I believe everyone will come to their time if they ever decide to do anything – that doesn’t stop me from talking and creating conversation about veganism. So anyways, Julia ordered some pasta with truffle (I think it’s their daily special) and Kel ordered a pizza with Parma ham and a Stella di Mare to share. On the menu it says for 2 person but the portion was definitely too big for two.

Stella di Mare

I think the highlight of the Stella is the focaccia bread. It was nicely made (traditional oven-baked, I believe) and the crust is the kind I would love on my pizza. Minus the mozzarella and the seafood, I think it will still taste as nice.

I’m just so happy to discover this brand Veganz in DM – the local pharmacy in Germany! On my previous trip to Frankfurt I’ve tried the Doppelkeks and I loved it. A few people who are non-vegan, also have tried out and they cannot believe it is a vegan recipe. So I went back to DM for more this time and I’m just happy to discover more vegan treats! Bravo Veganz! Definitely check them out if you see them on the shelf – you won’t believe it’s vegan recipe.

P/s: Vegan gummy bear is a gift from Julia. She is so sweet to make sure the bag that she got for me is vegan. Thank you Julia! And it was a pleasure to have worked with you. I wish you a smooth but exciting journey ahead and be safe wherever you are! Take care! Till next time.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑